Booker T. Washington HSPVA Students

Section 6

Section within the
Dallas Arts District

For the third time, Aurora is thrilled to invite the talented students of Booker T. Washington High School for the Performing and Visual Arts to present an art exhibition within the scope of the larger public art exhibition. Students and faculty will work together to exhibit artworks and performances throughout the interior and exterior of the high school, located in the heart of the Dallas Arts District.

The mission statement states “To provide intensive training in the arts and academics”. Arts Magnet prepares students to attend college, conservatory or to enter the professional field. Since its inception the school has garnered 18 presidential scholars and 194 DeeBee awards sponsored by Downbeat Magazine – a total unmatched by any institution, college or university in the country.

The dynamic and constantly evolving curriculum prepares students to explore an artistic career. A rigorous academic program offers all courses required for the State of Texas’ graduation plans. In addition to a host of honors and advanced placement courses in both the academics and the arts, the O’Donnell Foundation provides teachers with training in the Advanced Placement Program. Several teachers have been awarded the Surdna Grant which provides for professional enrichment. The National Foundation for Advancement in the Arts named BTWHSPVA as one of five Distinguished Schools in the Arts.

• Recognized nationally as a prototype for successful arts magnet high schools
• Curriculum integrates the arts and academics
• Students select an arts cluster to major in: dance, music, visual arts, or theater
• A complete academic program is offered including 20+ AP classes
• Grades 9 through 12; students must audition and interview to be admitted
• 99% graduate; 90% go on to higher education
• Over $23.5 million in college scholarships awarded to 201 graduates in 2012
• National Blue Ribbon Award for Exemplary Education by the U.S. Dept of Education

The students’ achievement comes as no surprise to those familiar with the instructional staff and the administration. With an approximate ratio of 1 faculty member to every 12 students in specialized areas, the efforts of 61 full-time teachers and 14 part-time/consultant teachers are augmented by master classes from visiting professionals in every discipline throughout the year. Approximately 88% of the faculty has more than ten years of teaching experience, and more than 83% have advanced degrees. The distinguished faculty includes Fulbright Scholars, a Christa McAuliffe Fellow, a National Tandy Technology Scholar, a TI STEM Grant teacher, National Board certified teachers and several Surdna Fellows.

The school’s dual emphasis on arts and academics consistently produces a stellar list of graduates. Among those are Grammy winners such as R&B vocalist Erykah Badu, jazz singer Norah Jones, jazz trumpeter Roy Hargrove, members of the gospel group God’s Property, and Brave Combo. Other notable alums include dancer Jay Franke, Philadelphia Orchestra cellist John Koen, visual artists Christian Schumann and Chris Arnold, drummer Aaron Comess, and Edie Brickell of the New Bohemians.

In 2008, a brand new $47 million state-of-the-art facility designed by nationally-recognized architect, Brad Cleopfil, was completed. The main building, incorporated as an historical landmark, has been preserved.

A biennial public art event of light, video and sound.

Supported by: